The Costly Lesson I Learned from a Ponzi Scheme

@SelfCareFlexx
2 min readMar 7, 2023

--

Get rich or get in debt trying…

Opening: I’ve always been a risk-taker with my finances. While I’ve learned to take smarter, more calculated risks, that hasn’t stopped me from trying to get rich quick. A few years ago, I found myself $50,000 in credit card debt thanks to a Ponzi scheme. It was a hard lesson to learn, but it taught me the importance of doing my research and asking lots of questions before investing in anything.

Context:

I was living in South Florida at the time, and some acquaintances who had completed a real estate course encouraged me to invest in properties with them. The course had been valuable, and I had just landed a new job that paid an additional $10,000 per year. I was excited to have some extra money to invest.

The Scheme:

After the course, we formed a group and started looking for properties to invest in. One of the members of our group connected with an organization that “flipped” homes and promised high returns. They convinced us to invest in materials to flip the homes until they were sold, with returns of 30% or more promised. We raised a quarter of a million dollars in 90 days, with me contributing $50,000.

The Fallout:

I was excited to get my first payout, but when the check bounced, I was embarrassed and confused. It wasn’t just me; all of my peers in the group were having the same problem. Checks bounced multiple times, and then they stopped coming altogether. We all lost money, and some families lost thousands of dollars. The group members stopped talking to each other, and lawyers got involved. The situation is still ongoing.

Lessons Learned:

The biggest lesson I learned was to do my research and ask lots of questions before investing in anything. I should have taken the time to investigate the organization and its claims, rather than jumping in blindly. I also learned that it’s essential to wait and see results before investing any money. This experience has left me in debt and without any room for fun, but I’ve been working hard to pay off my debt and improve my financial situation. While I continue to take risks, I’m more cautious now and always do my due diligence.

--

--

@SelfCareFlexx

I write about Health, Wellness, and Spirituality, to live your best and most purposed-filled life. We all deserve freedom.